On Tuesday 26 November 2019, the Welsh Government will be holding this inaugural event for AHPs, pharmacists and healthcare scientists at the Mercure Holland House Hotel, Cardiff. The conference will welcome the leaders and representatives of Welsh Government, NHS Wales, primary care, community pharmacy and social care, as well as the Minister for Health and Social Services, Vaughan Gething and Dr Andrew Goodall, NHS Wales Chief Executive and Director General of Health and Social Care. The First Minister will be attending the separate evening awards dinner and ceremony.

The all-day conference: Healthier Wales: The Value of Person-Centred Care will be followed in the evening by the Advancing Healthcare Awards Wales dinner and ceremony. This event will recognise and celebrate the important and innovative work of these professional groups.

“We are delighted to announce our first National conference and awards ceremony on 26 November 2019. We ask you to support us in recognising and celebrating the achievements of all three professions throughout Wales. Together AHPs, pharmacists and healthcare scientists offer a unique set of skills that will drive transformation of health and care systems. Person centred care and precision medicine – from early diagnostics to effective interventions – will support a more personalised approach to health and social care thereby increasing value in the system. Together the professions will help move the system from delivering traditional models of care in hospitals to a more community focused system with an emphasis of engagement and prevention.”

Ruth Crowder, Chief Allied Health Professions Adviser – Dr Rob Orford, Chief Scientific Adviser for Health – Andrew Evans, Chief Pharmaceutical Officer

Advancing Healthcare Awards Wales
Building on the success of the UK-wide awards programme organised by Chamberlain Dunn Events this new awards programme is open to AHPs, healthcare scientists and pharmacists throughout Wales, recognising and celebrating the achievements of all three professions. There are 8 awards open to enter:

  • Support staff member of the year
  • Allied Health Professional of the year sponsored by the Welsh Therapies Advisory Committee
  • Healthcare Scientist of the year sponsored by the Welsh Scientific Advisory Committee
  • Pharmacist of the year sponsored by the Welsh Pharmaceutical Committee
  • The Award for improving public health outcomes sponsored by Public Health Wales
  • The Award for Making Every Day Count
  • The Award for outstanding contribution to research delivery sponsored by Health and Care Research Wales
  • The Award for leadership and change management sponsored by Health Education and Improvement Wales

The winners will be announced on the evening of 26 November after the conference. The closing date for entries is 16 September 2019.

You can download the launch brochure and information sheet. For more information on the awards and conference and to enter visit www.ahpandhsawards.co.uk/aha_wales/

For conference programme and awards updates follow
@AHAwards on Twitter or visit www.ahpandhsawards.co.uk/aha_wales/